Clarence Model United Nations 2018


Clarence High School has been hosting four editions of Model United Nations Competition. It was for the first time that we went on to host the model united nations competition at the inter-school level. The response was overwhelming as we planned the conference for three hundred delegates, little knowing what we planned was going to be a reality. The registrations for the conference began towards the end of April. Slowly the response picked pace from delegates registering for the conference and lo behold by the time the registrations was closed four days into the conference we had already reached the target of 300 delegates.

Clarence Model United Nations

The executive board was carefully planned and each committee had an internal and an external Co- Chair with the moderator. The EB members were the ones who had established in the Circuit. So the debate in the committee was very productive. The tag line of the conference was Debate, Deliberate and Deliver and true to the tag line each committee had their debates of high quality. The Six committees viz., General Assembly- DISEC (GA-DISEC) The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), The United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) The United Nations Security Council (UNSC), The American Senate and the Continuous Crisis Committee (CCC).

Clarence Model United Nations

The two day conference was scheduled on 29th and 30th of June 2018. It was inaugurated by Justice Santosh Hegde former Judge Supreme Court of India and the Lokayukta Chief Justice. The Secretary General for the Conference was Manik Kamath the former School captain and also the former Secretary General of CLMUN 2015-16. The two day conference saw some hectic activity in committees, lobbying and debating skills. An estimated 28 institutions across Bangalore and two foreign delegates made CLMUN 2018, worth an experience.

The Conference came to an end with the closing ceremony. Dr. Priyanca Mathur, Dean of Social Sciences Centre for research, Jain University gave out the prizes for different committees with the Chairman Board of Management Mr Jacob Mathew and Mr Reuben Moses Secretary Board of Management also giving out the awards, the Closing ceremony was one filled with excitement and Bishop Cotton Boys’ High School walked away with the Best Delegation rolling trophy. Cash awards for the best delegates made it more competitive for all delegates to compete. Schools that participated walked away with fond memories of a conference that was well organised.